Join the club

April 13, 2010 at 3:31 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It came to pass that I ran a marathon for two reasons:

1. I don’t know when to keep my mouth shut, and

2. I will do just about anything for the Alzheimer’s Association.

My grandmother had Alzheimer’s for 17 years and it was just horrible. When I moved to New York, I joined the Alzheimer’s Association Junior Committee – NYC Chapter so that I could help to put an end to this disease. EIGHT (!!) years, 7 galas, 4 Public Policy forums, one presidency and one marathon later, here I still am.

The Junior Committee is a really wonderful group of people with a shared purpose. Yes, there’s a lot of business, but there’s a lot of fun too. Tonight is our monthly meeting, and we’ll be having a game night (with cocktails!) afterwards. ALL are welcome. If you’ve been thinking about it, please feel free to come. It’s a really good time. To prove it, here is a little montage of Alz through the years!

 

…anddddd I can’t format the rest of the pictures properly so that’s it for today. But trust me, it really is fun. The meeting is at 6:45 at the Chapter offices – 360 Lexington Avenue, 4th Floor (between 40th and 41st).

In running news, I did intervals as promised last night. I felt pretty good. I pushed to my high speed limit and I didn’t die, so that was satisfying. The rest of this week is pretty packed, though, so I have to try to get in morning workouts. I meant to do one today, but I never remember my good intentions when I’m hitting snooze! Oh well. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

