No sleep 'til Brooklyn

April 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Brooklyn Half Marathon is a month from today! How did that happen? Wasn’t it winter 5 minutes ago? And now it’s already time to do 13.1 again?

On January 1, I didn’t set any new year’s resolutions, but I did decide that my running goal for the year would be to complete the NYRR Grand Prix – a half marathon in each borough of New York City. If you do all five you get a totally awesome patch (if only I still had my jean jacket from 5th grade to sew it on to!).

Manhattan was in January. It was my first half marathon, so I had no expectations. My half split at the Marathon was about 2:29, and I was just hoping to beat that. But I hadn’t really trained, and I was prepared to do worse. To my surprise and delight, my time was 2:16! I was so pleased with myself.

Then I ran the NYC Half Marathon in March (it’s not part of the series). The course is much easier than the Manhattan Half (which is two hilly loops in Central Park), and I had actually put in some miles, so I had big dreams. Crushed! 2:19. Boo. I still don’t really know what happened.

So now, with a month to go till Brooklyn, I’m ready to make an effort that will hopefully translate to a significant time improvement. This means it’s time for some long weekend runs, which I’ve been avoiding since…. September. Whoops.

Tonight is run club and it will be the first time I’ve hit the pavement since last Wednesday! Oh my. I wonder how this will go. (As always, join us if you like: Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park at 6:30 – weather permitting!)

P.S. No one knows whether I can Shred daily or not? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

