Feel the burn

May 3, 2010 at 4:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

The TD Bank Five Boro Bike Tour was awesome! I’m so glad we did it. We took it at a pretty leisurely pace and really enjoyed the opportunity to ride on roads that we wouldn’t otherwise have the opportunity to – like up Sixth Avenue through Manhattan and the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. I can’t say it wasn’t hard, but I shouldn’t have been as worried as I was about not training at all. Going over the Verrazano Bridge at the very end was particularly challenging. It was totally worth it, though, and we will definitely do it again. (I’ll post pics tomorrow – we used the real camera and haven’t uploaded them yet.)

There was just one small problem. I only remembered to put sunblock on my face and the back of my neck. That means my arms were totally exposed to the bright, bright sunlight for almost 5 hours with no protection at all. It’s annoying because the tan lines are hideous! But it’s also insanely painful. I really think it’s the worst sunburn I’ve ever had in my life. It hurts so much that I am considering skipping the gym tonight and bathing myself in Noxema while loafing on the couch. Writing this makes me feel like a huge baby, but I’m telling you! I feel like I’m on fire.

I want to get in 25 miles this week, so that means I could do

  • five five-mile runs
  • three six-mile runs and a seven-mile run
  • three five-mile runs and a ten-mile run (yikes, don’t think I’m up for ten right now!), or
  • two eights and a nine

This is going to be tricky. That’s a lot of miles and a lot of running days. I thought I was starting off slow! Well, we’ll see how I’m feeling later and whether or not I can get in a run tonight. Looks like I might not have a choice in the matter.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Way to go on the bike ride. but seriously, that burn is out of control!!! Stay hydrated, moisturize and take tylenol to bring down the core temp. omg. xoxo

  2. thanks abs. already pumped with advil and feeling a bit better. xx


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

