Run report: The sound of silence

May 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Last night was perfect for running. It wasn’t too hot, it wasn’t too cold. We had a nice little group of six running, and I am pleased to report that we all had one thing in common: no headphones.

I love that! We don’t need music when we have the sights and sounds of the park to enjoy – and the company of each other.  (Laugh all you like at my cheeziness, but it’s true!)

After our run we chatted about an article in last month’s Runner’s World about a woman who went to a sort of running and meditation camp in Colorado, where her mission was to embrace running without headphones. Even though it sounds hard, that’s definitely something I’d like to do too. I never wear headphones on group runs, but I do when I’m alone (you might remember from last year that I prefer podcasts to music) and when I’m on the treadmill. But I so prefer the idea of being totally in the moment and concentrating on my breath and my body. I’m not sure I’m ready to dive in yet, but it’s something I’d like to work towards.

We did 5 miles in 55 minutes. I always think the treadmill is so hard until I get outside and remember that hills are much, much harder! But I still had a good enough run and a great time chatting with the team.

(We didn’t get the Garmins going yet – it’s kind of complicated! I’m hoping to have them ready for a run over the weekend.)

I’m at 15.5 for the week so I’m going to go for 9 + on Sunday. Next week I can only run on Monday and Thursday, but that’s fine as it’s a “taper” week before the Brooklyn Half (!!!!!).

Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

