I get by with a little help from my friends

May 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

With t-minus 5 days ‘til the Brooklyn Half, I was planning on running 4-5 miles last night. And then I got an email from one of our teammates:

“We’re doing 10 tonight! Want to come?”

So I emailed Chuck and said, “They’re crazy! 10 miles just 5 days before the race! Isn’t that too much?” And he said:

“I think I’m going to do 8 tonight. Maybe a little more.”

Well, if they’re ALL going for a long run tonight, then I am too. I can’t be the only one chickening out and doing 5!

So I joined my teammates for 10 miles up and down the East side – from 33rd Street to 125th and back. It was an “easy” run, if you can call it that; we took frequent and generous walk breaks and finished just under 10 miles in just under two hours. I’m glad I got in the long run, and I’m really happy I got to do it with my teammates and friends. It wouldn’t have happened without them.

I had the Garmin on but I hadn’t really figured out how to use it, so I didn’t track the first mile and I don’t know if I’ll be able to see a map of the run. But it was nice to know our mileage as we were going. It was awesome, actually. So I’m going to spend some time with the instruction manual before our run on Thursday.

On another note, I ran last night in my new thrivnp t-shirt, which I won in a contest at Eating Bird Food!

I loved it! It’s super soft, like a regular cotton t-shirt (actually, it’s better than a regular cotton t-shirt), but it’s technical, so it didn’t get weighed down with sweat. It was comfortable and cozy the whole way. Usually I wear Under Armour shirts, and I like those too, but they’re a little rough – the thrivnp shirt was definitely softer. The only problem was that it was white, so I didn’t want to wipe my face with it for fear of getting leftover makeup on it! But I’m sure they come in other colors and I’ll be testing those soon.

Today is a “rest day” – I’m going to a yoga class that my friend is teaching. I’m excited to finally be able to do some yoga but also a bit worried because my body is all tied up in knots from 10 miles last night! Not sure how that’s going to go. But I’m looking forward to it anyway.

A bientot!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How cool that you did a post about the shirt you won! We are thrilled you like it!

    Look forward to your makeup-smear tests of other colors 😉

    • I’m sure I’ll be testing your full color palette! 🙂

  2. Hooray. I’m glad you liked the shirt. Best of luck on your half marathon coming up.

    • Thanks – and thanks again for the shirt!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

