Hungry? Why wait?

May 20, 2010 at 5:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Do you want to see what I eat?

I am still struck by the fact that the most read posts on this blog are the ones I wrote when I was doing the juice cleanse. Does this mean you want to see more food? (Yes, I know juice isn’t food, but you know what I mean.)

Fueling is an important part of running and I try to be aware of the foods that make me feel good when I’m working out. As you know, I don’t eat meat (sometimes, rarely, I eat fish – mostly shellfish), so I have to be really conscientious about getting a good balance of nutrients. I’m no expert but I think I do a decent job.

I didn’t take a picture of my breakfast because I ate it too fast. I can take a picture of it tomorrow, though, because I eat almost the exact same breakfast every weekday: one slice of seven grain toast with almond butter and a banana with almond butter for dipping. Sometimes if I’m feeling wild (and today I was!) I’ll also have a hard-boiled egg, but just the white, because I don’t really love the texture of the yolk. So, almond butter = good fat and protein (and creamy deliciousness; also, it’s very filling and keeps me going throughout the morning); seven grain toast = whole grains and good carbs; bananas = potassium. The egg white has some protein, but mostly I eat it because I like it!

I did manage to remember to take a picture of my lunch. This is a really weird lunch for me, so it’s funny that this is the day I decided to start showing off my food. Normally I get a salad or a sandwich, and sometimes I get soup. But there’s one thing that I can’t resist if it’s on the hot food bar: mac and cheese. It is my ultimate weakness.

I paired it with lots of veg to make up for the unhealthfulness of the m&c. Honey glazed carrots and roasted squash, cauliflower and broccoli. Broccoli is so insanely good for you! If I’m having a sandwich or a soup for lunch, I usually add a few pieces of raw broc from the salad bar for the nutrients. It’s a superfood!

Some of you might be thinking broccoli before running?? Won’t that lead to bathroom issues?? Lucky for me, I haven’t had a problem yet. But I will definitely avoid greens and cruciferous veg at dinner tomorrow night (the last supper before the Brooklyn Half). Not taking any chances!

Tell me if you like the food stuff (you don’t have to tell me in the comments, though comments are warmly welcomed and often make my day; you can just click away and that’s how I’ll know). Obviously we’re still mostly talking about running here, but sometimes there’s only so much you can say about that!

Speaking of running, run club is tonight! 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park for the 5 mile lower loop. ALL ARE WELCOME. Don’t be afraid of 5 miles if you think you can’t go that far. You can! I’ll stick with you.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. broccoli?!?!?! vile weed!

    oh yeah, more food stuff….

    • i secretly hide it in your food ALL THE TIME!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

