Thunder Thursdays

June 3, 2010 at 2:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Thursday is, of course, run club night. But for the last few weeks it has rained, and tonight is also not looking hopeful. Running through a tree-filled park in thunder and lightening is not a good idea, no matter how much we want to get out there.

The good news is that I’ve trained myself to accept that I will always go for a run on Thursdays, with the group or without. It’s a done deal. I’m very happy with that habit!

And there’s more good news today. Team Run to Remember is officially back! All runners were notified of their acceptance last Friday and received their June training schedules last night. “Official” group runs won’t start until after the kickoff meeting on June 23, but team members new and old are invited to join OUR Thursday runs at Central Park in the meantime. I really hope it doesn’t rain tonight and we get a huge group of new Team R2R runners!

Here’s the already scary June schedule: June[1] 

I should also take a moment to note that despite the name of this blog and my twitter account, I am not a coach of this team. I am the mentor director, which is to say, I will be working with returning runners to develop a mentoring program for new runners. It’s a matter of semantics, so I will not be changing the name of the blog or the twitter; I just want to make sure that the actual situation is perfectly clear.

Regardless. I’m EXCITED to get things going again and to meet the new team. After all, the Marathon is only 157 days away!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yippee for the team “offically” getting back together! can’t wait to get things started! only 157 days away? nyc marathon… here we come!

    • 157 days is going to go by SO FAST! see you next week, I hope!

  2. Ahhhhh! 157 days?!?

  3. well NOW it’s just 151 days! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

