Run report: A little extra distance

June 11, 2010 at 4:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

It rained until about 6:29 last night, but a small group of people were brave enough to meet in the park for our weekly run.

We started out a little fast for me, so by the 2nd mile I had to hang back, but I wasn’t behind by much. I had the Garmin again and I was able to pace myself carefully. I wanted to do 10 – 10:30 miles. I ended up being a bit faster – all of the miles were under 10, except for mile 4 which was over 11. (I was running with Coach B and we had to stop and chat with people during that mile – he is the Mayor of the Loop, after all!) When we were done, the Garmin told me that we had done 5.14 miles (in 51.33)! Who knew? All this time I had been throwing in a little extra distance.

In case I didn’t make it perfectly clear before, ohmygod I love the Garmin. I thought it might be the outdoor equivalent of watching the display on the treadmill (which I have completely given up – I am now a towel addict), but it’s not at all. It’s great to know how fast and far I’m going. I feel like I’m starting a whole new era as a runner!

Tomorrow I’m running NYRR’s women-only Mini 10K (their oldest women-only race). I am excited! Kara Goucher and Paula Radcliffe, two of the most accomplished female runners in the world, are running (they’re both pregnant, so not racing to win).

I’m also excited because this is my FIRST 10K! I’ve run 6 miles a billion times (okay slight exaggeration), but never in a race. I have a tiny dream about finishing in under an hour, but that’s might be crazy. The course is clockwise in the park, which always messes me up. I am a creature of habit.

One last thing: our fundraising pages for the Marathon are up and running! I would be so grateful for any small donation you can make towards the cause. My page is here.

Is anyone else running tomorrow?

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. great luck tomorrow! xoxo

  2. thanks ab xxx


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

