The race to end all races

June 24, 2010 at 6:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

For me, the race to end all races is not the New York City Marathon. It’s not a marathon at all.

It’s a 3 mile race on the streets of Lower Manhattan.

It was the first race I ever ran, long before I ever contemplated running a marathon. I barely trained, and it seemed impossibly long. I think I finished somewhere in the 45 minute range.

I ran it again at the beginning of marathon training last year. (You may have read my previous posts about that race and the 5K distance.) I had been training for over a month at that point and I really believed I was going to finish in under 30 minutes. Needless to say, I was devastated when my final time was 36:01.

But now!

Now I have been a consistent runner for over a year. I have completed a 5K in 28:30, both officially and in training. I can definitely do this. I have to do this.

Finishing this race in under 30 minutes will make me feel legit. It’s a small goal, really. But maybe that’s why it’s so huge. I thought it was a small goal last year and that’s why it hurt so much when I didn’t make it. I felt like a fool.

Well, fool no more, I hope. Fingers crossed.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Meghann! You can totally do it – you are so there!
    After almost two months of physical therapy for a torn hip flexor, I’m finally back to running again – taking it slow for now – and can perhaps join you one of these days. You are an inspiration!

  2. thanks Hilary! I really appreciate the encouragement!

    I had no idea you were injured – that sounds so awful. I’m glad you’re on the mend and I would LOVE to run with you. anytime!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

