Race report: Trust no one

June 25, 2010 at 6:06 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

I have no idea how I did last night!

Well, I have an idea. I have a couple of ideas, and that’s the problem. I don’t know who to trust.

According to New York Road Runners, I finished in 30:24. It’s okay. Clearly not under 30 minutes, but not by much. And there were a lot of mitigating circumstances, including ridiculous crowds and a temperature of 97 degrees. So, not bad, considering.

BUT! According to my faithful Garmin, we ran 3.43 miles in 30:23. We hit the 3 mile mark at 26:31. If that’s true, it’s a serious world record! But I don’t know if I trust it. It seems crazy. We were going fast, but were we really that fast? My Garmin has never lied to me before, but I can’t be sure.

As we were leaving the race, a gentleman saw that we were wearing Garmins and asked us what distance we had registered. He had 3.23; I had 3.43; Chuck had 3.71 (!). So bizarre! We could only conclude that how wide we took our turns affected the distance. Or perhaps some of those big tall Wall Street buildings got in the way of our satellites?

So I don’t know exactly how I did last night. What I do know is that I definitely beat the old time by almost 6 minutes. I also know that running with a friend is great fun (thanks Tricia!) and makes any race better.

Next stop: Prince Harry and I are running the Achilles Hope and Possibility 5 miler on Sunday. Anyone else going to be there?

P.S. Thanks for your patience as I transition to the new address! Things will be looking more normal soon, I promise!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I would say don’t trust your garmin, and here is why. I live in the area, and when I would drive my car it would take until I left the financial district area until my navi registered any satellites. It has to do with the tall buildings and the small streets.

    Good luck on Sunday, I am running the 5 miler on Saturday.

    • thanks, Scott! kind of a bummer, but I’m sure you’re right.

      good luck tomorrow! looks like great weather!

  2. […] American Heart Association Start! Wall Street Run (3M), May 17 (after work! This is a fun one we’ve been doing for years) […]


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.