A little perspective and a visit from Prince Harry

June 28, 2010 at 4:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

(In case you haven’t noticed) I’m kind of a complainer. I get grumpy easily. People make me mad all the time (especially on the subway!). I whine and moan about all the things I have to do, about going to work and making dinner and keeping to my running schedule and finding time for fun and everything else you can imagine.

But what’s the point?

Yesterday, I ran the Achilles Hope & Possibility 5 mile race in Central Park with my R2R teammate Tricia and my friend Danielle, who was in town for the weekend. Danielle had only run one race before this one – a 5K – but I promised her she could do it and loaded on the peer pressure until she relented.

(I was clearly very excited to be running!)

I’m so glad this was the race I forced her to run, because it’s the best race ever. It’s hard not to feel like the luckiest person in the world just to have two legs to walk on after seeing some of the incredible people out there Sunday morning. There were people with all kinds of devastating injuries, including children, just 3 or 4 years old, who still managed to run or walk 5 whole miles (in intense heat, no less). It was beyond inspiring. And I know I have nothing to complain about. I should be grateful every time I lace up my sneakers and have the opportunity to go for a run.

There was also a very special guest at this race! We were lucky enough to be right near the start line when Prince Harry arrived and greeted the people participating in the wheelchair race. It was just so charming to see him in his race bib like a regular guy.

It was not a fast race for us, and that’s fine. The point was to finish, and to walk away feeling grateful for everything we have, including the ability to run the race on our own two feet. It was hot and muggy, but I felt great the whole time.

P.S. Top photo credit goes to Brian, and the Harry pics are courtesy Tricia. Thanks guys!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] and Gay Pride run on Saturday, and the Achilles Hope & Possibility 5-miler on Sunday (the most amazing, inspiring race of the year). Anyone else going to be out there? LikeBe the first to like this post. Leave a […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

