The rest day is the best day

July 2, 2010 at 2:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The first month of training with a schedule has come and gone, and I’m feeling good.

I think that I’ve done pretty well, especially considering that we were away for a week and that pre- and post-vacation days can be a little nutty. I’m probably a bit short on overall mileage for the month, maybe 15 miles or so, but that’s not bad at all.

The lesson I’ve learned is that sticking to the schedule feels awesome! Last year I was pretty lax – “I’m too busy to run 5 days a week.” But this year I’ve been much more focused and the difference is clear. I’m a better runner. And I’m not afraid of it anymore. There’s no dread. (Yes, I really used to dread running!)

And then there is the rest day. The rest day is the best day when you know you’ve really earned it! I put in my miles this week and I get to have today off. In fact, I have to take today off so that my body can recover. It feels great!

Last night I did the 5 mile loop with just a few from the Thursday group. They’re both a bit faster than me so I was pushed a little, and I’m glad. We did 5.14 in 51.03.

In honor of the rest day, I’ll leave you with some pictures of the remainder of our vacation. And I’ll catch ya back here next week.

Happy fawth (as they say in Rhode Island)!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

