Bus exhaust

July 7, 2010 at 3:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

You know when you get off the bus and you have to walk behind it to cross the street, and you go through that plume of hot exhaust that’s so disgusting? That’s what yesterday was like, only it was everywhere, not just behind the bus.

A bunch of Team R2R members met last night to run in the park, and that, frankly, was a crazy idea. The temperature peaked at 103 yesterday, and I’m sure it wasn’t much cooler than that when we were running. Just standing still was a sweat-drenched affair, so I’m not sure why we thought we should run. But run we did – a little.

We started out nice and slow but then the pace picked up to about 9:30 miles – which is a little fast for me on a good day, and nutty fast on the hottest day of my life. So I fell behind a bit but kept moving. I didn’t want to be the one to stop. There were 6 or 7 other people running and they were all fine.

And then, after 2.5 miles, I realized that was really stupid and I stopped and walked. I walked the whole remaining 2.5 miles of the loop. And I’m glad I did because I was ON. FIRE. It was too hot to run. It was too hot to walk!

Yes, it sucks that I had to cut my run short yesterday, especially after I missed my run on Sunday. But I just have to lace up my shoes again (in the GYM today, because I haven’t lost my mind) and look forward, not back.

(thanks to Coach B for the pics!)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

