Will it ever stop? Yo, I don’t know

July 14, 2010 at 6:19 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The heat, the heat. The humidity.

There hasn’t been a day under 80 since…June? And 5 of the next 7 days look to be over 90. I forgot how hard it is to run in this kind of heat. It’s really unpleasant.

On Monday evening I took myself out for a 5-miler on the West Side Highway (since I knew I couldn’t run on Tuesday). I had dead legs. Perhaps they were still tired from the 9 miles on Sunday? Or maybe it was the super sticky, thick air. In any case, I had a rough time of it. My pace was slower than on Sunday and I only ended up completing 4.59 miles. I think the time was maybe 51 minutes or so? I didn’t even want to look at the Garmin report.

From the good news department: I got up and ran in the morning today! I decided it was high time for some speedwork, which is perfect for the morning – it’s fast. I did 2.34 miles in 25 minutes alternating 1 minute at 5.5 and 30 seconds at 7.5. I didn’t feel spectacular, but it was better than Monday.

The gym is nice in the morning! It was pretty empty and I had no trouble getting a treadmill. I think I’ll be back again for speedwork since I don’t have to get up toooo early for it.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

