Five runs a week

July 16, 2010 at 5:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’ve been a bad blogger this week. A little uninspired. Next week will be better, I promise.

And now the weekend has come, and I have miles to get in, and it’s going to be tight. At least I have Sunday’s Team R2R group run to look forward to – we’re going to Roosevelt Island!

Since I have no deep thoughts to share, I’m going to steal some wise advice from a few returning Team R2R members. Here are their thoughts on how to find time for a 5-run-per-week marathon training schedule:

  • Plan on running each day of the weekend and you already have 2 runs in; plan your short run day first, so you’ll know the days during the week that you have to work on finding time for the longer runs.
  • I read somewhere once (probably a runner’s magazine) that when you are training for a marathon and need to get the runs in, make sure everyone in your life that depends on you knows you are training and that it takes time. Try to schedule your runs to fit into your and their schedules…that way if they have to pick up on some of your responsibilities (examples: taking care of a child or making dinner for me!) they are prepared for it and can plan accordingly. For me, I try to look at my week and see what days it will just be impossible to run and make sure that is my off day. Putting group runs on the calendar is a big help for me 🙂
  • I like to run at the start of my day, even if it means getting up at 5:30am! That way I get it over with and am in an awesome mood for the rest of the day. Even if you have a bad day or hate your job – you will be surprised how much running makes anything bearable – so look forward to it!
  • Don’t stress if you can’t get a run in every day on the schedule. Try to go to the group runs, they are super fun and they are an easy way to get one good run in every week. Honestly, last year I ran 4 days per week and went to 1 or 2 bikram yoga classes on my days off, rode my bike and swam a few times during the summer. If there are other forms of exercise you like, you can continue them, just mix in running. If you have to skip a day, try not to skip the long run, they are on the weekends so it’s a bit easier to fit them in. Don’t force yourself to run if you are overly tired or injured, you will just be annoyed and/or make your injury worse. Listen to your body and be nice to yourself!

I think that last line bears repeating: Listen to your body and be nice to yourself!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

