At least I’m not crazy*

July 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Tuesday night is official group run night, and last night we had a great turnout. It was hot, but there was a nice breeze in the park, and we did a comfortable 5 miles. I ran for a bit with Ali, our new coach, and talked to her about my foot. (She’s a sports therapist.)

When we finished, I took off my sneaker and sock and she (bravely) took a look at my foot. I couldn’t see it, of course, but when I flexed, she was able to show Chuck where my plantar fascia was stretched so thin it was about to tear (!!!!!!!!). Even though that was bad news, it did make me feel a little better to know that I hadn’t been imagining or exaggerating the issue.

Ali showed us how to “massage” the area, which should help with the pain and strengthen the tissue. “Massage” really means beat down until you think you can’t take it anymore. But I’m desperate. So when we got home, after we ate dinner, Chuck plied me with a Tofutti Cutie ice cream sandwich and “massaged” my foot until I was almost crying. Then I iced it for 15 minutes, which was the most I could take.

I had wanted today to be the start of “Speedwork Wednesdays,” but after last night I decided it would be best to rest this week, especially since I am running the Queens Half Marathon on Saturday. Stay tuned for next week, though, when I’m planning to make a repeat early morning appearance at the gym.

* This has not been confirmed by a medical professional.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

