(Finally) Introducing: Speedwork Wednesdays

July 28, 2010 at 2:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Okay. I feel a bit better.

Last night was the usual Tuesday group run. I paired with Laura and enjoyed the company very much! I’m still not feeling excellent – the heat is really bothering me, and my breathing has been labored lately – but it wasn’t terrible.

After the run, I came home, quickly showered, and Chuck and I went to dinner to celebrate my vegaversary. It was so, so lovely. We went to Blossom on 9th Avenue and we had the best table there (in my opinion) – the one by the window that’s nestled into a little nook. Dinner was delicious.

We walked to and from dinner, and I wore this pair of flip flops that are super flat and not cushioned at all. I love them – they’re simple and they go with everything (in my mind). But they’re essentially the equivalent of going barefoot, which is pretty much the worst thing for someone with plantar fasciitis.

When we got home, Chuck rubbed my foot a bit and then I iced for 20 minutes. But when I woke up this morning, my foot hurt so much. It’s always most painful in the morning, but today it was really a problem because I was planning to go to the gym for intervals.

The walk to the gym was rough, but once I got moving on the treadmill, I felt a lot better. I did 25 minutes alternating one minute at 5.5 and 30 seconds at 7.5. It feels so good to really move when I’m going at the faster speed. I just can’t maintain it for long! But I think speedwork really helps with cardiovascular strength, so I’m glad I’m getting back into it.

Unfortunately, though, my foot is really killing me now. It’s because I wore those stupid flip flops to work! (And because I ran twice in 12 hours, I’m sure.) But I just can’t wear sneakers with a dress. I can’t. I won’t. No. I will just ice until my foot is blue.

In other news, I caved and spent a month’s rent on a digital picture from the Queens Half Marathon. Okay, it wasn’t quite that much, but it was still crazy expensive! Anyway, a good race picture is rare, so I splurged. Here it is. Like how my tail is flying in the wind?!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. nice tail! that picture was totally worth it!

    • oh thanks! I knew you’d like my tail.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

