Searching for satellites

July 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

First things first!

Giant thanks and love to my genius friend Michael Lum, who designed this beautiful new header for me. I think it looks amazing and I’m really happy with it. I hope you like it too!

Now, on to a slightly less pleasant subject: running.

I did manage to drag myself out of bed to run this morning; I think I did 5.4 miles in about 59 minutes. It’s nasty out there. It’s super hot and so disgustingly muggy. Yuck. So, not a great run for me. But at least I got the miles in. Miles, miles, miles: that’s all that matters at this point.

I think I did 5.4 miles in 59 minutes, rather than know, because the Garmin has been having trouble finding those satellites. No satellites = no timing, no mapping, no pacing. I wish I had all day to stand on the corner and wait for my watch to get a signal, but alas. So, I started running at 6th Avenue, but I didn’t start recording until I got to 8th Avenue. I guesstimated how long it took me to cover that distance, and that’s how I came up with 59 minutes.

The Garmin has been kind of a stinkah lately! It didn’t find satellites at all in the park on Tuesday, so I couldn’t record my run. Boo.

Tonight I’m taking the train to Rhode Island and tomorrow morning I’m going to do my 12 mile long run on the streets of Borington. I have two hydration plans. First, I mapped the distance from my parents’ house to my Grammy’s house and it’s 5.5 miles, which means Gram is a perfect half way point (I’ll just add in a little extra zig zagging here and there). I’m sure she’ll be glad to give me a nice big glass of water (it’s a surprise, though, so if you talk to her, don’t tell her I’m coming!). Second, I’m thinking of getting a Camelbak. I’ve read about some people doing that on long runs and I’m intrigued, since I never got the hang of wearing the fuel belt.

I’ll let you know how it all goes on Monday! Have a great weekend.

P.S. Don’t forget that Thursday is run club night – Chuck will be leading in my absence. 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park, near the loop.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. have fun in Rhode Island. what’s up with the satellites? Government conspiracy?

  2. probably. obama was here yesterday.

    happy weekend!

  3. I told Chuck earlier that I am in a fight with my Garmin. If we can’t hash it out by 6.30 tonight the Garmin will be staying home. 🙂 sorry you are also having some issues. BOO. Have a great weekend and hope you find satellites.

    • oh no! I really hope you two work it out before running tonight. have fun and see you next week!

  4. *start spam*

    omg that banner is awesome. i would hire that guy for all of my graphic design needs.

    m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com m-lum.com

    *end spam*

    please post this comment


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

