Praise trees!

August 2, 2010 at 4:26 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I had the most glorious 11.5 mile run on Friday morning!

(Sometimes I am still shocked that I can use “glorious” and “11.5 mile run” in the same sentence.)

The weather was completely perfect. I felt like I could breathe deeply for the first time in a month. Thank goodness for fresh, cool air, for trees, for a breeze!

For the first time in a long time – maybe 10 years?! – I found myself on the bike path in Barrington. I discovered that it’s incredibly beautiful! I guess I must have just taken it for granted when I was younger. I was so sad that I didn’t have the camera to take pictures for you. Next time, I promise.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to stop and pick up a camelbak on Thursday, so I just drank a lot of water before I left and packed $10 in my pocket in case I needed to stop and buy a bottle before I got to Grammy’s. It turned out that with the breeze and cool air, I didn’t feel the need to stop at all.

I buzzed Gram’s buzzer after 5.44 miles. I had called her to warn her that I was coming by, but I didn’t tell her how I was getting there. She was definitely surprised when I told her I ran from Barrington! She really wanted to drive me home but I told her I was only halfway though my run. I drank 12 oz. water, went to the loo, and was back on my way in less than 10 minutes.

Grammy, me, and my brother on the 4th of July.

I felt a little tired on the back half, but for the most part, it was an excellent run. I imagined myself as Forrest Gump, just truckin’ through the country side, getting there slowly but surely. I was super pleased with my pacing – every mile was between 10:15 and 10:45, which I think is pretty steady. My final time was 2:00:51 for 11.49 miles.

I really, really needed that run after sticky, miserable, sluggish July. I’m so glad I got it in. Great way to start a new month of training!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

