Missing persons

August 3, 2010 at 2:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

My bridal shower was this weekend, and it was really lovely. There were so many people there – friends and family, many of whom I haven’t seen in a long time. We laughed and caught up and enjoyed the beautiful day in Newport.

But someone was missing: my Grandma.

Alzheimer’s took her life three years ago, and took her long before that.

She and my grandpa took care of me growing up; they got my brother and me ready for school every morning and then picked us up at the end of the day. She was gentle and kind, and she loved us so much.

By the time I was in high school, the focus shifted from taking care of us to taking care of her. You can see in these pictures that she was already fading; soon she would move into a nursing home after a fall, and never move out.

Now they’re both gone, my grandma and grandpa. Neither of them will be there to watch me get married next month, though I know they’ll be there in spirit.

No one survives Alzheimer’s Disease. It is a slow, painful death sentence. That’s how I became this crazy running nut in the first place – so people would pay attention!

So, please, take a moment to think about how you would feel if you lost someone you loved to Alzheimer’s, and think about what you want to do to prevent that from happening. You can visit www.alz.org for some ideas. Or just ask me.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Meghann,

    You probably won’t remember me since we only met once, briefly, last New Year’s. I’m a friend of Megan Morrison’s.

    Anyways, wanted to tell you I’ve been following your blog for a couple of weeks now (a friend of mine, Ann Welch told me about it) and I’m really enjoying it. I’m a beginner, so I find your attitude to running really encouraging. Would you mind if I pester you with stupid questions?

    See you on the trails sometime!

    Kayam

    • Hi Kayam!

      I definitely met a lot of new people at Megan’s that night, so I’m not sure I remember, but I’m know I will when I see you again in person 🙂

      Thank you for reading. I’d LOVE to answer any questions you have about getting started with running! Also, you are more than welcome to join our Thursday run group in the park – it’s open to one and all, and it’s a good opportunity to speak to a lot of runners with different levels of experience. Let me know if you want me to add you to the email list.

      Thanks again!
      Meghann

  2. Hey Meghann!

    Thanks for the quick reply! Yes, please add me to the mailing list.
    Do you have my e-mail address from here, or do you need me to give it to you?

    Also, this reminds me of a question I’ve been trying to get an answer to. I’ve been wanting to try out different routes in the city (I mostly run on the West Side, starting in Battery Park) but I’m not sure what to do with stuff I can’t leave at home (wallet, keys etc.). What do you do? Waist pack of some kind?

    Kayam

    • Yup, I have your email from the form I get when you comment.

      After a lot of trial and error, I think I just about have the “stuff” issue down. I used to run with a waist pack, which I honestly didn’t mind. But then I got a few pairs of pants/shorts with a small pocket built into the back and it’s so much easier than carrying additional baggage. We have special mini sets of keys just for running (only house keys, nothing else, no keychain) – so they are small and fit in the pocket. I also have a Road ID, which has all my info on it, so I don’t need to carry my license. It has my name, emergency contact, insurance info – everything – and it’s velcro and goes around my ankle. My tiny pants pocket also has room for cash so I usually bring that too, just to be safe.

      The only other thing is the iPod, but I’ve actually stopped using it for running, so I’m free of that too and I love it 🙂

      Hope this helps!
      Meghann

  3. Of course I cried reading this post. I know that look…that horrible blank look. My Grandma had the same look. I hate this stupid disease!

    • oh, Pat. me too! it’s so hard to see again but I hope it helps people to understand.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

