Speed racer

August 4, 2010 at 4:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Good looking team, no?

Now that we have built our base mileage, the coaches want us to work on speed. As you know, I’ve dabbled in speed a tiny bit, but I’m no pro. So I was very interested to learn what they wanted us to do.

Last night was sort of a mix of tempo runing and repeats. (I had to have it all explained to me 14 times before I finally understood.) The super speedy group did just tempo running – basically, race pace, or as fast as possible, for 1.7 miles (the lower loop), a small break, and then repeat twice. A few people chose to do one tempo loop and then do the 5 mile loop slowly afterward; and my group did one tempo loop, one loop of repeats (sprint for two lamp posts and jog for five), and one loop of jogging.

It was not easy! After the tempo loop I didn’t think I had any more running in me. But after resting a bit I joined in for the repeat loop. After that one I really wanted to quit, but the other girls were all going back out, and what am I if not a follower? So I did it. And I was quite pleased at the end that I made it through the full 5.1 miles after going all out for the first 1.7.

And…on the tempo loop, I was kind of fast! Well, fast is a strong word. But I was moving pretty well. I had no idea how long or hard I could run, so I was pleasantly surprised that I finished in 14:11, which is an 8:20 pace. (Even Coach B was impressed!) 8:20 is the pace I’m at when I do the speedy parts of my speed workouts on the treadmill. And I maintained it for 1.7 miles! So, I think that means that maintaining it for only 30 seconds on the treadmill is pretty lame. I guess I’m going to have to do better. 8.0 here I come!

I skipped the run this morning because I was so exhausted from last night and because my foot was positively aching when I got up this morning. I limped over to the alarm to hit snooze 7 times! And then I limped around my apartment and limped to the subway and limped into work. I iced last night, but I guess it didn’t make much of a difference. Hopefully a rest day will.

Tomorrow we are going to Vermont! I can’t wait. (Except maybe for the mountain running?!) I will try to post about tomorrow morning’s run before we leave, but if I’m squeezed for time, I’ll just meet you back here Monday.

In the meantime, the usual Thursday run us still on, led by Coach Ali. She imparts lots of wise advice so join her! 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to the park.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

