Get up and get it done!

August 9, 2010 at 3:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Happy Monday everyone! I will be back soon with an update from the end of last week and the weekend, but in the meantime, I have a little treat.

Last week I had the pleasure of seeing my friend Gym Belle from Gympressions, and I asked her for her tips on getting up early to work out. She ended up posting her answer on her site. I’ve copied her post below, but please also go visit her at Gympressions for her funny and insightful thoughts on different workouts all over the city.

Gym Belle Q & A: Early Morning Workout Tips

@meghannmoves asks: can you teach me some of your tricks for getting up really early to work out?

I do workout in the evening occasionally, but mornings are a better fit for my schedule.  I tend to work long hours, and I can never be totally sure that I’ll get out in for time evening classes.  If I want to run outside, mornings are my only opportunity for daylight.  When I’m not working late, I don’t like choosing between exercise and seeing friends, etc.  Also, evening workouts mean super late dinners and mess with my ability to fall asleep at night.

Getting up at 5:45 am isn’t always easy for me.  It’s rare that I feel like I’ve gotten enough sleep when my alarm clocks go off, and my dog really doesn’t like getting up that early.  Still, I know how much better I’ll feel throughout the day if I’ve worked out, and that gets me out of bed. 

I find it helpful to have a set plan, either a class I’m going to take or a certain number of miles that I’m going to run.  I don’t think I could get out of bed to “work out”, but I can get up to make it to a particular 6:30 spin class.  If I’m meeting up with people, that makes a huge difference, too.  My brain is usually pretty fuzzy at that hour, so I try to pick out my clothes the night before and figure out what I’m going to eat.  I also usually set two alarm clocks so that it’s less tempting to mess with the snooze buttons.  (Too much beeping.)

As much as I push myself most mornings, though, I do respect when my body just says no.  Some days, I wake up way more sore than I expected to be.  Other days, I really am just too tired.  If I’m just going to be going through the motions, I might as well take a rest day and be more energized for my next workout.

-Gym Belle-

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a Comment Inspired by Gym Belle and her oh-so-wise advice, I am proud to report that I have gotten up early TWICE this week to run. And it’s only […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

