It’s (already) that time again

August 13, 2010 at 1:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Another weekend, another half marathon! I can’t remember if I mentioned this, but my original running goal for this year was not to run the marathon, but to complete the NYRR half marathon series. Even after I committed to the marathon, I was still set on this goal, so I’m trucking through. I’ve already done Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens. Bronx is on Sunday and Staten Island is in October.

(As a side note, never in a million years did I think I would ever be the kind of person who would set running goals for the year!)

I’m still a little shaky after the Queens experience a few weeks ago, but I already feel better knowing that the weather for this race is going to be much more comfortable. And it so happens that my long run this weekend is supposed to be 13 miles, so I’m trying to just treat it as a training run. It’s hard not to set time goals, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have a number in mind. But I’m really going to try to relax and remember that my goal is to FINISH these five races, not win them!

Last night we had to cancel the group run because of the weather, but I’m pleased to be able to share this ridiculous and wonderful picture from a group run a few weeks ago!

Yeah, we know how to have a good time.

Have a wonderful weekend!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m from Long Island but didn’t start running until long after I moved to Texas. I wish I was a runner and knew about this series sooner! Sounds like a great time. Best of luck in da Bronx!

    • thank you! and by the way, I loved your post on choosing not to do the bike race 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

