Strength vs. Miles

August 20, 2010 at 5:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

A fun group of ladies gathered last night for our strength workout. (Where are the boys?!)

We jogged the 1.7 mile loop in about 17 minutes and then headed to Sheep’s Meadow for some light torture.

It actually wasn’t that terrible, but that might have been because we took a lot of breaks!

Here’s the round up:

25 min core workout

Back lunges with runner arms, 15 each side

10 push-ups

 

Glute sequence in quadro-pad position (that’s table in yoga):

Single leg straight leg ups 1min

Single bent knee pulse ups 1min

Single straight leg side ups 1 min

Stretch

 

10 push ups (we went girly style)

Bridge ups – 25

Single leg bridge-10 each

Stretch

 

Abdominal Sequence

Curl holds 30 sec

Curl hold with pelvic tilt 20 sec

Forearm side plank 30 sec each (we skipped this one!)

Stretch

 

Single leg calf raises 12 each

Seated toe pulls with partner resisting movement 12 each

Side to side resisted ankle pushes 12 each

Stretch

I actually think that it would take less than 25 minutes if you did everything all in a row, quickly.

It was an intense, great workout – but I can’t help but feel bad about the lost miles. I don’t want to run tonight since we’re doing 14 in the morning, but between today and hills on Tuesday, my mileage so far this week is just 11.3.

Also, I made a running buddy for the Marathon, and we committed to aiming for 4:45 as our finishing time. That’s FORTY minutes faster than I was last year. I’m stronger and better now and I believe I can do it, but I have to put in the work.

No pressure.

Have a great weekend!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Meghann,

    Great post! I’ve been wanting to join the Thursday runs but work’s been so bad. I didn’t run all of last week! I was in mileage withdrawal.

    Btw, I figured the stuff issue out – just slipped my credit card, DL and a couple of bucks into my iphone armband. Duh.

    K.

  2. Who led the workout? Sounds really cool. I hope I’ll be able to make some of the Thursdays!

    • it was Ali! hopefully we’ll be able to do this on a tuesday too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

