These streets will make you feel brand new

August 23, 2010 at 5:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Thank you, Mayor Bloomberg! Summer Streets are the best!

On Saturday morning, a good number of R2R members met in Union Square for a long run. Most of us had to do 14 miles, so we took a route that went into the park, but mostly featured Summer Streets. We started on the corner of 14th Street and 4th Avenue, ran up Park to 72nd Street, went into Central Park for the 4 mile loop, back out to Park Avenue and all the way back down to Worth Street, and up again to 14th Street.

I had such a wonderful time! I got to run with lots of different people and had fun with all of them. Honestly, the first 10 miles flew by. After that, things started to ache a bit, but generally, good company is a cure all. Plus, it is just so much fun to be able to run in the middle of the street! There was so much to look at and so many people to see. And the weather was absolutely perfect. It was such a nice way to start the weekend.

We took our sweet time – lots of water stops and breaks at traffic lights – and finished in about two and a half hours.

Yesterday, I was feeling pretty good and I wanted to go for a short run, so I headed to the gym for a little speedwork. I did the same routine as last time, but I didn’t feel so excellent. I was tired, I guess, but I also had eaten a whole lot of carrots and hummus right before I left. Perhaps not the best idea. When will I learn?

This week I’m juicing again! Just juice ‘til dinner, though. I still want to be able to run and I need some bonus energy. So, tomorrow I’ll show you lots of pictures of all the awesome vegan goodness that I get to have for dinner tonight. In the meantime, green juice for lunch!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

