The extra mile

August 30, 2010 at 7:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Well! My little dream came true – I think my body actually was saving up energy for a great run on Saturday.

The team was doing the NYRR Long Training Run, where participants have the option of running anywhere from 6 to 20 miles. I thought we had 15 on the schedule, since we had 14 last week, so that’s what I was planning for, but on Friday I realized that we were actually supposed to do 16. Whoops. I decided that I only had to do 15 anyway since that’s what I had been mentally preparing for.

But then we were in the park, and the weather was perfect, and the company was excellent as usual, so we thought, why not? And my running buddy and I decided to go the extra mile. It left us off right next to the pretzels and bananas anyway, so it was perfect.

Sometimes I shake my own head when I see stuff like this in writing – I thought we had “only” 15 miles this week but we threw in an extra? I just can’t believe that I have somehow become a person who runs 15 miles on a Saturday morning and thinks almost nothing of it. Extraordinary, really. And wonderful.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are extraordary and wonderful. Get it in now before you are 6 months pregnant. I can barely walk my dog around my neighborhood without needing a serious break to catch my breath. xo

  2. I think walking the dog around the block while 6 months pregnant is also pretty extraordinary and wonderful!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

