Foot update

August 31, 2010 at 4:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I know it’s been keeping you up at night: what is going on with Meghann’s plantar fasciitis? Is she healed?

No, I’m not healed, but I’m definitely a lot better. I think I can give most of the credit to my new orthotic insoles, which I’ve been wearing for about three weeks now (they’re over the counter, not medical, and cost about $45). I’m sure icing, stretching, massage, and strength training also helped. But I wasn’t able to ice after the 16 miler on Saturday, and I still felt pretty great all day.

Plantar fasciitis is a common over-use injury for runners. (And, yes, it makes me feel kind of bad ass to have an “over-use injury for runners.”) I can’t explain much about it that wouldn’t be plagiarism, so check out the Wikipedia page for the science. I can just say that I’ve had horrible pain in my heel all summer and only now am I finally feeling some relief. So, hopefully, things will continue to go well and I’ll be pain free soon. Coach Ali told me that once it goes away, it doesn’t usually come back. Wahoo!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

