Hump day slump day

September 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

It never ceases to amaze me how different running can feel one day to the next. On Saturday, I ran 16 miles with almost no trouble. Yesterday, I barely made it through 3 and a half on the treadmill. Such a mystery.

It has been a while since I ran on the treadmill for distance – I’d say three months, at least. Lately it has only been speedwork, and that has been minimal too. Since we started mixing up our Tuesday workouts, it doesn’t really make sense to run sprints again on Wednesday mornings, less then 12 hours later.

So, last night I just wanted to get in 4 or 5 miles, but the boredom of the treadmill got to me, fast. (I decided it was too hot to run outside.) I have to wonder if it would have been more beneficial to me to do some other kind of cardio, like the elliptical or bike, instead. Something that I could have kept at longer.

In the end, I clocked 3.38 miles in 36 minutes, and in the end, I believe that some running is better than no running. But I do wish I could get over the hump day slump.

I guess I just need to be with my team to be at my best! Speaking of which, join us tonight at Central Park for a 6 mile run, if you please. The meeting point is 61st and Central Park West, on the Park side of the street (there are benches there, you’ll find us).

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

