Back to school

September 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

What a week! I feel like that headless chicken and I am absolutely counting the minutes until the weekend. Fall is back, with a vengeance.

I’ll start way back where I left off, which was my weekend run in Rhode Island. I took to the bike path again, this time with my little Camelbak in tow. The lesson I learned was that one should read the instructions before one uses their new toy. I had the waterbottle upside down in the backpack, so I couldn’t get any water out. I dumped the pack at my Grammy’s (mile 5.5) and picked it up later.

It wasn’t much of a run. The weather was nice but the stars just weren’t aligned like last time. I made it through 11.5 or so miles in about an hour and 56 minutes (estimates because I forgot to charge my watch, obviously). There was one highlight though – I ran into TMB from Racing with Babes on my route! She is married to a friend from high school (actually, we go way back – we went to Busy Bee nursery school at the Y together!) and was visiting Barrington with her kids. If only I had had the presence of mind to check her blog before I left, I would have realized that she was in RI and we could have run together. Or at least part of the way – she was finishing up a 20-miler when I saw her! Phew. Impressive.

Tuesday morning, back in NY, I went to the gym before work for intervals. I was planning on a longer run but I woke up late. Shocker, I know! Anyway, I felt excellent and went for 5 minutes longer than usual, totaling 3.05 miles in 30 minutes (1 minute at 5.8/30 seconds at 8.0.)

Later that evening, Chuck and I had the pleasure of hosting Team R2R in our apartment for a “Halfway There/Gear Pick Up” party. It was so nice to have the team together in a social environment. We got to chat about running stuff and non-running stuff and anything and everything you could imagine. It was great fun and my only wish was that more people would have come!

Chuck, Coach Ali, Angela

Coach Ali, Rachael, Julie

4:45 baby!

Danielle and Coach Brian

us!

Erik and Fred

OBVIOUSLY!

Finally (phew), yesterday, we met up for the usual Thursday run in Central Park. It was a pretty comfortable 6 miles.  I’m short for the week, though, so I’ll be running again tonight. It’s a lot, but it’s worth it. I think September is shaping up to be my second 100+ mile month in a row!

In our new gear!

I need a nap.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just love that pic of you and Laura!

  2. me too!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

