Time to tune up

September 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Every year, about 6 weeks before the marathon, NYRR offers runners a “tune up” – an 18 mile practice run in Central Park. It’s three loops, which is exactly as boring and torturous as it sounds. Last year, it was pretty rough – it was freezing and pouring rain and miserable. I finished in 3 hours and 45 minutes, just short of the 4 hour cutoff. I was proud of myself for finishing, but I was in pain for days.

It’s looking like things will be a bit different this year! For starters, the weather seems to be working in our favor. 70s and dry is ideal. And second, of course, I am a much more experienced runner now; I’ve run 18 and more before, so it’s a lot less scary.

It IS still scary, though! The park is so hilly, and even though I know it so well now that I feel as if it’s my own back yard, you just never know what to expect on race day. Luckily, there are a ton of R2R teammates running, so we’ll all have plenty of support.

Last night our team run was cancelled because of the crazy storms, so I went to the gym and did intervals in the treadmill. About a third of the way in I decided to up my ratio to 45 seconds fast/1 minute jogging. It felt pretty good! I think I could maybe do a 60 seconds/90 seconds ratio next time.

Squeezing in another 6 tonight before the weekend. At least tomorrow will be a full-on rest day! Have a good one, guys.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those CP hills are tough, let alone doing the loop 3 times. Good luck!

    • thanks! it was rough, but we made it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

