TGFT

October 4, 2010 at 9:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

That’s Thank Goodness For Teammates. I absolutely would not have made it through the 20-miler on Saturday morning without Laura!

During the two weeks prior, I had run a total of 9 or so miles – 5.5 outside in Barrington and a really miserable 3.1 on the treadmill last Thursday. And jeez oh man, did I ever feel out of practice for this run!

Our route was two loops in the park, up Central Park West to 72nd Street, across to the West Side Highway, and down to Battery Park. The loops weren’t bad. We had a lot to talk about and the weather was just right. But once we got to the WSH, my legs started to feel heavy, and I got a stitch in my side. There were still 7 miles left, which seemed completely impossible.

Laura gave me a salt pill and I felt a bit better for a while, but the last 6 miles were really like torture. I was exhausted and my legs were like lead. I know without a doubt that if Laura hadn’t been chugging along beside me, I wouldn’t have finished. But we both just put our heads down and grunted through. No more chatting. Just one foot in front of the other.

When we finished, we could barely walk! This was marathon-level pain. (And actually, I didn’t get through the 20-miler last year, so this was the only time I’ve run this distance in my life other than the marathon itself!) I was totally incapacitated for most of the day. I almost didn’t make it to brunch. (But don’t worry, I did.)

I wanted to run tonight to get myself back in gear, but it’s pouring and I just don’t have the heart to hit the treadmill. I am crossing all of my fingers and toes for a rain-free team run tomorrow!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i would not have made it without you either! praying for no rain tomorrow too!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

