Back in action

October 13, 2010 at 6:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’m sorry I’ve been missing. My enthusiasm for training and running has been underwhelming lately, to say the least. But now I’m back!

Last week, I needed to squeeze in one more run after the mediocre Wednesday workout and before the Staten Island Half Marathon on Sunday. I intended to do it before work on Friday, but I slept late (shocker). I had to be somewhere at 7 on Friday evening, and I get out of work at 5. Where’s the time for getting sweaty and cleaning up? I ended up not getting out of work until 5:20, and I tortured myself over whether to run or not. This is the feeling I hate the most – being torn between living my life and training. Running isn’t fun anymore when it’s forced.

Ultimately, I decided that I would be really upset with myself if I didn’t run, so I scrambled to the gym at top speed and did 25 minutes of intervals on the treadmill. I felt meh and I was still late for the party. Not quite what I was hoping for.

So, on Sunday, I wasn’t exactly feeling gung-ho about the Staten Island Half. I still hadn’t really had a good run since the wedding, and I wasn’t sure what I was capable of. Back when I surprised myself with a 2:07 at the Bronx Half, I had harbored the hope that I might get closer to 2 hours – and a new PR – at SI. And even though that dream was clearly over, I was still secretly wishing I’d do it, despite being under trained and over tired.

The race was okay. I felt fine. I know I could be faster, but not on that day. My time was 2:12:30. The nutty thing is that if I had never run Bronx, that would have been a PR for me. My pace was 10:06, which is just right for the marathon. I should be happier, but it’s always disappointing to not see improvement, especially when harboring secret dreams about being super fast.

 

Thanks to NYRR for use of this image.

I thought about running, or doing some kind of activity, on Monday, but my heart wasn’t in it. I was feeling bored and annoyed with training. We took the day to get things done around the house, and I don’t regret it.

Finally, last night, the switch flipped and I’m feeling good about running again. The team met for tempo runs in the park and I felt great. we had to do the little loop (1.7 miles) three times, with small breaks in between. The goal was to run faster than marathon pace, but to keep as consistent as possible for the three laps. I ran with Alile, who is an excellent buddy. It was one of those wonderful occasions when I really felt like we were both pushing each other just the right amount. We weren’t very consistent, but we were faster on each lap, which I like even better: 15.54, 15.38, 15.11. That’s 46.44 for 5.1 miles, and that sounds pretty good to me.

When we got home, the new Runner’s World was on the counter, and I actually wanted to pick it up and read it. A very good sign! That’s how I knew I was back for sure. What a relief.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

