I love running

November 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

I saved this post for near the end, thinking that it would be a good time for me to wax poetic about all that running has done for me. When I made that decision, I didn’t believe I would burn out again this year. But I did. So, needless to say, this post didn’t exactly write itself.

It has been a good exercise for me, though. To force myself to remember why I continue to run. My first priority is and has always been doing anything I can to end Alzheimer’s Disease. But beyond that are all these other wonderful reasons to keep going.

1. I have made the most amazing friends through running. Yes, that’s definitely because I was on a team. (Everyone should join a team!) But training with other people is such an incredible bonding experience, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

2. You can’t eat like crap when you want to run long distances (or any distances!). My diet has improved so much.

3. That said, you can eat like a total monster AFTER a long run, guilt-free!

4. It’s something wonderful for Chuck and me to do together. We can trade experiences and spend more time together through running.

5. My body has changed – running isn’t a ticket to skinny, but I’m definitely leaner and stronger.

6. If I have a bad day, or I’m annoyed about something, or sad, it all disappears when I go for a run. That can be because I am with friends and can talk it out, or because I’m alone and can think things through. Or perhaps it’s just because running hurts and is a serious distraction from stressing about anything else!

7. The formula is really simple – when you put in the work, you get better. No, I’ll never qualify for Boston. But it feels pretty great to watch my times improve in each race I do.

8. I didn’t think I could do it, but I did. It’s pretty amazing to succeed at something that seemed impossible. Actually running a marathon – or, really, running in general – was, for me, the relative equivalent of playing a sonata or landing on the moon: something I felt I physically wasn’t capable of. But I am! That’s exciting.

FIVE DAYS LEFT! I finally downloaded the pictures from last year onto my computer – here are a few.

That’s my friend Marissa illegally running with us in mile 23!

When Megan and Ronny busted us walking in mile 25.

Crossing the finish line!

I insisted that the person who handed me the medal actually put it around my neck!

Last official team run is tonight. I can’t believe we’re already here!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it me, or does Chuck look like he’s about to collapse and you haven’t even broken a sweat after last year’s race?

    Go Meghann — here’s to another marathon! Simply awesome what you guys are accomplishing.

  2. just call me Rosie Ruiz…

    kidding!

  3. Great post! I’m new to your blog and am enjoying reading about your final days of training. Best of luck with the marathon. Totally inspiring!

    • thanks, Ali! glad you stopped by!

  4. Yay! My post-race photo from last year is awful! I could barely stand without a grimace!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

