Refining things.

March 31, 2011 at 5:30 pm | Posted in strength | 8 Comments
Tags:

Last week, when I was complaining (surprise!) that I don’t know how to do a real push-up on twitter, Dori suggested that I check out one of the free introductory classes at Refine Method. So I signed up then and there and went to my first class last night.

Refine was founded by former New York City Ballet dancer Brynn Jinnett and is described on its website as “a seamless circuit-style technique called Metabolic Resistance Training, utilizing our exclusive Refine equipment system. Our goal is to unite exercise science with the aesthetic objectives of our clientele.” I’d say it’s yoga + pilates + total body conditioning (or body pump, or whatever your gym calls it).

The class was super tiny – just 8 people. I liked that. The instructor could then give each of us personal attention and make sure that we had good form. The routine started with some light warm ups, most of which were basically yoga poses. Right away we had to do push-ups! Since learning a proper push-up was one of the main reasons I came to this class, I couldn’t wimp out. And I was not about to be the only one out of 8 people doing “girl” push-ups. So I just did it. Luckily, they were measured by time and not by number of moves, so it was okay that I just did about 4 (I have no idea how many the other people did; I was too busy concentrating on my own). The instructor didn’t come by to correct me, so I assume that means that I did okay!

(Side note: once again I’ve learned that the only way to tackle anything you are scared of or don’t know how to do it just DIVE IN and make it work.)

The heart of the class was circuit training – a bunch of moves that are repeated with breaks for cardio. I can’t recall it all in great detail but there was a lot of squatting and a good deal of arm resistance training on a weighted pulley system. It was intense, but not impossible by any means. The only thing I didn’t like was that the pulley system was kind of herky-jerkey and the movements were not smooth.

The class ended on the mat with some glute and leg moves with resistance bands that caused more suffering (for me) than any other part of the class. Needless to say, my tushie is screaming today. But definitely in the good way – the “I know I did something awesome for my body” way.

Refine was certainly a total body workout, which is great for me – it means that everything is tackled in one session. Classes are $25 each, which is pretty reasonable given the cost of other fitness classes in this city; I pay a lot for my gym membership, though, so I’m not sure I see it becoming a major part of my routine. That said, I will definitely be back from time to time!

Remember, the first class is free, so it’s worth checking out.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. welcome to the revolution! very proud of you 🙂

  2. thanks lady!

  3. So glad you tried it! Some classes include a LOT more push-ups than the ones in the beginning. That’s the thing about Refine — every class is totally different. Also, the pulley should have been a lot smoother, I am wondering if you needed more assistance or a different resistance? The intro package is 8 classes for $100, you should do that so we can take class together!

    Great job on the push-ups!!!

    • I’m really tempted to do the 8-class pack! I’ll let you know if I get it and will definitely try to coordinate meeting you for a class! thanks again for the suggestion 🙂

  4. I go to a place in Philly that is kind of similar to this, called Lithe Method (i think they are looking at opening a studio around Union Sq soon). Lithe classes enabled me to do pushups after never ever being confident of my upper body strength, especially after all of my surgeries. I could even do push ups 6 months preggers. Way to go for trying something new!

  5. you are such a pro! is that who you went on a trip with last year?

    • yes. when i went to jamaica. they have trips 2x a year now. so glad i got one in before i had the baby.

      • I will be on the first Refine Caribbean trip if there ever is one 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

