Like Christmas morning.

April 8, 2011 at 2:33 pm | Posted in food | 7 Comments
Tags:

Last night I finished my final juice.

This morning I woke up feeling giddy and got the French press cranking!

And had a wildly indulgent breakfast of watermelon.

Baby steps! Can’t dive back in to anything crazy after going food-free for three days. I’m thinking my mid-morning snack will be a banana with almond butter, and then lunch…well, I haven’t gotten that far yet.

Once again I’m really happy with the results of the cleanse (so far). I really felt quite good while I was on it – I had three very productive days at work and in my personal life. I feel that I’ve seen a small but significant improvement in my skin, which is wonderful. And I did lose 6 pounds. The point of juicing is not to lose weight, but it’s a nice side effect. Plus, most importantly, I don’t want to go back to the bread- and cheese-heavy foods I was eating before – I really just want nice, fresh fruits and vegetables so I can keep feeling so good (we’ll see how long that lasts since it’s no secret that bread and cheese are my top two food groups!). Also, I think I’m just going to switch to decaf coffee. I clearly don’t need the caffeination, and I can easily give it up without missing out on the ritual of making coffee in the morning.

In other news, our group run last night was GREAT! I was feeling a little tired and heavy, to be honest, but despite that we still finished the 5.1 mile loop in 49 minutes, which made me very happy. And it was all worth it for the moment when I got to come home and log my miles on Flotrack and DailyMile. Putting it in writing and watching it add up is so satisfying! (PS if you don’t use DailyMile, you should! It’s like facebook for runners/cyclists/other sporty people and it’s super fun.)

HAPPY WEEKEND! Are you up to anything fun? Any races?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wait, you lost 6lbs in 3 days? is this weight that will come back with food? if not, sign me up!!

  2. the first time i did BPC i lost 5 lbs and i did not gain the weight back until after the wedding, when life got a little crazy (that was about 6 months). so, I have faith that if i keep up on healthy foods and regular exercise, i can keep it off again. that’s not a promise though 🙂

  3. Mmmm coffee. Actually, I think all those juices look tasty but I’m not sure I could not eat for three days.

    Are you doing the Brooklyn Half??

    • you can buy the juices individually at whole foods if you want to try them!

      we signed up for brooklyn but we ended up planning a trip to chicago that weekend so we’re not going to do it… are you? any other races?

      • I think I might look for them at Whole Foods just to see.

        Yes, I am doing Brooklyn. That is the only race I have signed up for recently. Too much baby planning to do to commit to too many! I’m still toying with the idea of marathoning, as I know you are. Probably not but you never know.

  4. I feel the same – I think I’m going to pass this year but I’m worried about getting really jealous when everyone starts training!

    • Training, yes. Being jealous on race day? Definitely.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

