Race report: Run for the Parks 4M

April 18, 2011 at 6:26 pm | Posted in races, weekend | Leave a comment

Saturday was pretty nasty, and I was in a time crunch, so I revised my weekend plan: instead of 8 on Saturday and the 4 mile race on Sunday, I would do 3 at the gym on Saturday, and run home from the race on Sunday for a total of about 8 miles.

It worked!

Three miles were easily checked off at the gym on Saturday. I am getting more comfortable with treadmill running.

Sunday started off gorgeous. When I arrived at the park, the sun was shining and the air was cool. Excellent running conditions.

I tried to take it easy in the race, knowing that I still had to get through another 4 miles after it was over, but I couldn’t help giving a little oomph. Honestly, I wasn’t feeling great – I had a cramp for the first couple of miles – and I just wanted it to be over. I finished in 37:42 (9:26 pace).

The race ended on the 72nd Street transverse, so I walked over to Central Park West. From there, I jogged to the West Side Highway. My legs felt strong and I was confident about the next 4 miles. But as I approached the water…

Holy WIND!

All of a sudden the sun was hidden behind lots of clouds and the wind was so strong I thought it was going to rip the race bib right off my shirt. My eyes were watering and my ears were burning! It was nasty.

By the time I got down to 18th Street, I was exhausted. The last time I ran more than 6 miles was… at the Marathon in November. So, my body was a little surprised. I finished the second half of the run, 4.41 miles, in about 45 minutes, which, considering the wind and having to wait for traffic lights, is not shabby at all.

There’s no running on the schedule today, but I am much overdue for some yoga. I’ve honestly been trying to go for weeks, but I’m constricted by a 9-5 work schedule, and I’ve found that there are very few level 1 classes after work. Alas. I know I have to make it work. I think yoga is a key to running injury-free. Plus, it’s good for the soul!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

