All you need to know is this.

April 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm | Posted in running | 4 Comments

The 115th Boston Marathon was this past Monday, and because it is one of just a few major races that has qualifying requirements, there was a lot of press this week about just who should be running marathons. Needless to say, runners on the slower end of the spectrum bore the brunt of the negative commentary.

I got really fired up and wrote an angry post in response.

Then I deleted it.

Because, in the end, all you need to know is this: running is for everyone. It doesn’t matter if you are tall or short or skinny or fat or a man or a woman or FAST or SLOW. If you can put one foot in front of the other, you can be a runner. Period.

Join us tonight. 6:30 at the Columbus Circle entrance to Central Park, near the loop.

Photo credit.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just found your blog and love it! Quick, thoughtful, me likey!

    • thank you so much!

  2. Great post!

    Every year there is some nonsense with people belly-aching about too many people in marathons, people who need to take walk breaks not being true marathoners, blah blah. Sad, elitist, super frustrating (especially for new, slow runners like me).

    I remember a similar article last year, and then Jeff Galloway’s great response. I always go back to it when I read something like the article you posted: http://jeffgalloway.typepad.com/jeff_galloways_blog/2009/12/earlier-this-fall-the-new-york-times-published-the-opinion-of-adrienne-wald-httpbitly68sgpe-the-womens-cross-coun.html

    Well said, Jeff! I want to be speed demon and race Boston one day, but I’m not going to get there without a lot of practice. I’m glad there are some people who don’t mind that I am bringing up the rear (for now).

  3. I hadn’t read that before – thank you for sharing! I love Jeff Galloway. So eloquent (and his column in RW is the best 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

