At least I showed up.

April 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm | Posted in running | 2 Comments

It’s a slippery slope, you know. You skip one run. You skip another. Next thing you know it’s been a week and you’ve forgotten how to tie your shoes.

It was sooooo hard to get out of bed this morning, but I had to do it. I knew if I waited one more day I’d really lose steam. So I dragged myself to the gym and cranked out 3 miles. I was so tired I forgot to increase the incline at all. But at least I showed up and did the work. Now I can get back into the swing of things.

And anyway, soon I’ll have no excuse for skipping runs. We are doing some minor (or so I thought) work on our apartment, and we have to vacate for a month! So, we are going to be living in an apartment that’s super close to Central Park. As in, fall out of the front door and land on the loop close. I am ecstatic that I will get to run there in the morning! Where we live normally is great and central and fun, but we’re not really near a good running spot – it’s almost a mile walk to get to Hudson River Park, which is closest – so this will be a real treat.

Do you live near a park or are you stuck in the middle like me? If you’re stuck, do you usually cave and go for the treadmill or do you make the effort to run outside?

Photo credit.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. how often do you do speedwork? i’ve been trying to get back into it after i stopped going to nyrr weekly classes. i am thinking once a week, but is that enough?

  2. I think once a week is more than enough. the training plan I’m using now (Hal Higdon) only calls for every other week, and I wish I did it more. but I don’t think I’ve seen a plan with more than 1x/week. it’s too bad bc it’s so easy and so much fun!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.