Excuses.

May 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm | Posted in running | 7 Comments

I loved the New Balances!

It was nothing like running with my regular sneakers. The first big difference was that I felt really…short. I guess I didn’t realize that the Mizunos give me an inch or an inch and a half of extra height. In the New Balances, I was down low. And it made me even more aware just how much my feet were groping the ground. Obviously, it wasn’t exactly like being barefoot, but the sensation was there.

I started jogging slowly and found my stride. My left foot and leg felt great the entire time. My right foot and leg were slightly less cooperative. First my toes felt funny, then my arch, then my calf, then my hip. But, by the end of the first 1.7-mile loop, both feet and legs felt normal, and the second lap was smooth sailing. It felt like more work for my legs to propel forward, but I think that was a good thing – that’s how my legs will get stronger. And, I’m super pleased to report that I had no shin pain at all! So glad that was a false alarm (knock on wood).

I’m excited about the barefoot sneaks and I’m going to use them with caution from now on.

This morning I had planned to get up to do my (now elusive) tempo run, but I slept through it. It’s okay, I thought. This has been a tricky week with the move, and I’ve been battling a sinus infection since Monday (side note: the only time I’ve felt completely normal and able to breathe properly all week was when I was running last night!). But then I took a look back at my excuses over the last month or so:  

They’re all legitimate, I know. But they add up. An excuse a week translates to a missed run (or two) a week. Then I’m really compromising my effort and the work I’ve put in so far. And, possibly, my goal of a sub-2 hour half.

On the other hand, I want to enjoy running. It’s recreation, after all, not work. It’s something I do (presumably) for pleasure. Beating myself up for a missed run here and there seems silly.

So, I’m a little confused. Where is the balance?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i think when you are training for a specific time it is harder to find the balance. i have been so impressed with your dedication, that i think it is ok to have missed a few.

  2. thanks, laur. that makes me feel better 🙂

  3. anytime! xo

  4. I am so excited that you tried those barefoot shoes! I’m always wondering about them.

    • yes! I also want to try the five-finger shoes just for regular walking around. just to make my feet stronger. I’m sure I’ll be walking on hot coals and stuff soon 🙂

  5. I feel very much the same way! I’ve had an excuse per week – or two – that all seem legitimate, but then I look at my training plan and realize what I’ve missed, a critical run here or there or cross training session (and I too want to beat the 2 hour half). But, then I also remember, I’m not a professional runner – and like you said, this something fun that I do. And there’s always the next race to try to improve my training for. It’s at least reassuring to hear others that have the same struggles. And I haven’t even tried my new barefoot sneakers yet 🙂

    • you are probably smart to have waited to try the barefoot sneakers! I just have no patience 🙂

      it’s nice to know we’re in the same boat on this. and you’re right, there’s always another race!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

