5 x 2.

May 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm | Posted in running | 2 Comments

I am lazy. I didn’t want to go to the trouble of mapping out a new route for my 10 miler on Saturday morning, so I decided to do the 5 mile loop in Central Park twice.

It was a beautiful morning.

But it was not a good run. Running the same hilly loop twice was not my best idea ever. I was so tired after the first 5 miles that the next 5 seemed insurmountable. I seriously considered quitting multiple times. Especially since the loop starts and ends at my front door, and it would have been very easy to peel off at the halfway point!

Even Fred couldn’t motivate me.

But I imagined how horrible I would feel if I didn’t finish, so I made a compromise – I would just do whatever it took to get through, even if that meant stopping at every water fountain and walking. (Thank goodness the fountains are on again!)

 

I walked up cat hill on my second loop (mean old cat), and I also walked one of the three monster hills on the west side.

In the end, I still finished 10.3 miles in 107 minutes, so my pace was fine. I even suspect that my time might have been slower if I hadn’t given myself those hill breaks.

In any case – it sucked, colossally, but I did it. So that’s that.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Way to power through! Great job, always an inspiration!

    • thanks friend!

      ps you should have told me you were here for mcqueen last week! we could have had lunch 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

