Those first few miles.

May 11, 2011 at 7:24 pm | Posted in running | Leave a comment

 Something I always forget about running is that it gets much easier after the first few miles. I realized this again last night when I went out for a short run – just as I started to really feel comfortable, it was over.

I think this is one of the things that makes it so hard to become a runner – it takes a long time to feel good. In the time it takes to build up to two or three miles, you never really feel great. But I promise, once you’re beyond that point, you’ll feel just fine! Of course, not every day is great (hello, Saturday), but in general you can rest assured that things will get much, much better.

Even though it took a bit to get things going, my run last night was nice – another success in the “barefoot” sneakers! 3.4 miles in 32 minutes.

I used them again this morning for speedwork on the treadmill – 9 x 400 at 7:41 pace. For some reason it seemed extra hard today, but I got it done. On track for this week so far!

(Get it??? On TRACK??? I’m hilarious.)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

