No presents for me.

May 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm | Posted in running | 2 Comments

I sort of did it. I’m not sure if it’s present-worthy, though.

Once again I draaaaaagged myself out of bed to run. (What happened to the days when I used to pop up at 5:30 a.m.?) I hit the treadmill approximately 45 minutes later than I intended to. After a little internal negotiation I determined that 35 minutes would be a worthwhile run while still potentially leaving me enough time to get to work more or less when I’m supposed to.

It didn’t feel great. I spent much of the first 20 minutes trying to figure out ways to cut the run short. But in the end, I went the full 35. Yes, I was supposed to do 45, but since I skipped the last two tempo runs (both of which were supposed to be 40 minutes), I guess I can give myself a pass on that, since it would have been a big jump. And 35 minutes of tempo running is certainly better than nothing. (I ended up covering 3.76 miles for 9:18 pace – I know I am sometimes that fast outside but for whatever reason I am much, much slower on the treadmill.)

So, here we are, just two and a half weeks before race day. I’m feeling a little discouraged and a bit disappointed in myself for letting my training slip so much. I know that I had good excuses for every run missed, but now we’re nearly at race time, and I know I haven’t done my best. I also think I may have sacrificed my time goal.

What can I say? Every time I sign up for a race I think this time it will be different. And then every time life gets in the way. Running is my hobby, and at the end of the day, it sometimes has to play second fiddle. I do my best when I can. I got up today and gave it what I had. That’s the most I can hope for.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. For what it’s worth, I think you are amazing! Life always gets in the way. The important thing is that you are still training and keeping this blog to keep yourself motivated.

  2. oh wow, thank you so much! I really appreciate the vote of confidence!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

