Hi honey, I’m home.

May 27, 2011 at 4:08 pm | Posted in running, weekend | Leave a comment

Well! That was an adventure. I had hoped to post yesterday, but we didn’t get home from Chicago until 4:30 am (major flight delays), so I was kind of a waste of space all day. But here we are, part one of two posts on the last week. This one is the running edition.

Saturday morning was a crazy gorgeous perfect day for running. I met up with some buddies at 7:30 and we zig-zagged in and around Central Park to cover 11 miles. My legs were 2 days-rested and I felt really excellent. I needed a good long run like that to give me a little confidence. We weren’t super fast (plus we stopped for water and for street lights), but it doesn’t matter. 11 miles done in an hour and 56 minutes.

When I came home, I discovered some not nice things had been happening inside my sock.

It actually doesn’t really hurt, but it is seriously fugly.

Fast forward to Tuesday in Chicago – I did plan on a bit more running, but sleeping got in the way (and I’m not at all sad about that)! I managed to get out for one morning jog along this great stretch of waterfront.

In my minimal sneaks (much more convenient for packing)!

It was really lovely. The wind was pretty intense on the way out, but it was smooth sailing on the way back in. I ran for about 35 minutes. I don’t know how far I went, but it doesn’t matter – I was just shaking out my legs and enjoying the scenery. It’s fun to see a new city through the eyes of a runner.

Last night we did our usual Thursday run. It was so muggy and hot! I can’t believe summer is already here. It seems like just yesterday I was whining about the cold, and now it’s time to whine about the heat.

I wore new BLUE RaceReadys. I’m living on the edge.

I felt pretty yucky, but I got through it. Only 9 days until the half! Just one big long run left. I must admit, I’ll be relieved when training is over. But I’m excited about the race.

Chicago part 2: the photos is coming soon! Please stay tuned.

Have a wonderful holiday weekend! I hope you are doing something fun to celebrate this incredible weather. Beach, anyone?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

