Left too late.

June 1, 2011 at 5:57 pm | Posted in running, weekend | Leave a comment

Saturday morning my training schedule called for the last long run before the half marathon – 12 miles. I planned to leave at 8:30 a.m.

At the last minute Chuck decided to come with me, at least for part of the run. We putzed around for a while, having our snacks and drinking coffee, and didn’t leave the house until ten past nine.

The sun was blazing.

We started on the West Side Highway, made our way up and across 110th Street, and entered the park just east of Harlem Hill. The plan from there was to go down the east side to 72nd street, do the 4 mile loop in the middle, and then continue down to Columbus Circle.

I felt really miserable. I can’t say for sure, but I think the problem was that we left too late. I knew it was going to be hot and sunny, and I should have realized that leaving even at 8:30 wouldn’t have worked. We should have left at 7:30 so that we would finish before the sun was really high in the sky.

I don’t like to do this, but I decided to cut the run short. It was SO HOT and I guess I’m just not used to summer weather yet. We finished 8 miles in 87 minutes, which included some walk breaks and a stop in the Boathouse bathroom. (I made Chuck take a picture of me when we finished, but it is just so hideous that I can’t bear to put it on the interwebs.)

Training is pretty much over, so I took the rest of the weekend off and finally went to the beach!

This morning I hit the gym for the final speedwork session before the race. I did 8 x 400 at 7:41/mile pace. It felt uncomfortable but not impossible, which is just what I was going for.

Do you ever cut your runs short? Or do you always power through because you feel guilty (or because you have a blog?!)?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

