All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go.

June 3, 2011 at 6:12 pm | Posted in races, running, Thursday group, weekend | 2 Comments

Just kidding. All I have in my suitcase is a pair of sneakers and a cat.

 

I did choose a race outfit, though, and I bought some Gus.

(My Alzheimer’s jersey is at our apartment and I don’t know if I can get there to retrieve it before tomorrow morning.)

Last night we ran the usual loop for the last time before the big day. I hoped that I would have an amazing run and feel great and super confident about the race, but no luck. I hope that means I’m saving myself for Sunday.

I’m not sure how I feel going into this one. Will it be my first sub-2 hour half, as I hoped back when I decided to sign up? I don’t know. It’s no secret that I didn’t put 100% effort into my training. But I wasn’t a terrible slouch either.

I’ve been very lucky in my brief running career: I do seem to have some kind of switch that flips to GO when I race. I always dig deeper when I’m against the clock. So I do have some hope that I’ll be able to find a way to go sub-2. But it’s an ambitious goal for me, with or without a totally perfect training record under my belt; if I do it, it will be a PR by almost 9 minutes.

I keep trying to imagine what will be going through my mind when I step into my corral on Sunday morning. I hope I’ll just be happy. After all, I’ll be in my favorite place in the world with Chuck and our good friends, running for my favorite cause. A sub-2 time would definitely make it extra special, but I think I’ll be able to enjoy myself no matter what.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have a great time, and a great run!!

    • thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

