What’s next?

June 8, 2011 at 6:54 pm | Posted in Alzheimer's, yoga | 2 Comments

Now that the half marathon is over, I don’t have a training plan anymore. I’m FREEEEEEE! So, what’s next?

Well, first and foremost, of course, is coaching Team Run to Remember for the Alzheimer’s Association, NYC Chapter Junior Committee.

I’ll be with them most Tuesdays and Thursdays with a few Saturdays and Sundays thrown in here and there. My job will most definitely be to pull up the rear, so this won’t be aggressive, but since there will be some good distance, I’m going to count on it to be my cardio for the next few months.

The other element of my workout program will be yoga. All yoga, all the time. No weights, no other classes, no boot camps. I’ve always thought that running + yoga would be the ideal combination for me – I actually think I set that as a goal in my journal in college – and now seems like the right time in my life to go for it.

(I always practice yoga on the beach at sunset. Don’t you?)

I’ve always loved yoga as a restorative and meditative practice, but now I’d also like to embrace the athletic aspect as well. I’m most accustomed to standard hatha yoga, so now I’m going to try to branch into vinyasa, anusara, and possibly even bikram. (Maybe bikram. My first experience was not excellent.) I’m going to try a lot of different studios until I find one I love, and then I’m really going to commit. Ideally, I’d like to go at least twice a week. I want to be strong enough to get into crow pose!

(On a crazy mountain top, natch.)

Do you have a yoga studio that you love in the city? I’d love some recommendations! I’m a fan of ISHTA Yoga on 11th street and I’m also dying to try Strala Yoga on Broadway near Houston.

(Source, source.)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good to hear – I have an Ishta groupon-type-deal I bought I am going to use soon! Enjoy the freedom from a training plan for a bit!

  2. Ishta is great! they also have a new studio on the upper east side – but I haven’t been yet, so I don’t know what it’s like.

    thanks!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

