Rounding out.

June 15, 2011 at 7:06 pm | Posted in not-running | 4 Comments

I don’t eat meat for a lot of reasons, and ultimately I believe it makes me a healthier person and a better runner. But I also understand that there are a few things, nutritionally speaking, that I may miss out on by abstaining from animals.

Recently, after reading about it here and there, I decided to try taking a vitamin B12 supplement to round out my diet. B12 does not occure naturally (in significant amounts) in plants. You can get it from eggs, milk, and yogurt, but of those three, I only eat eggs, and I usually skip the yolks, so that’s probably not going to do it for me.

B12 is important for growing red blood cells, which is a pretty big deal. If you’re deficient in B12, you could end up with anemia, fatigue, weakness, constipation, and loss of appetite. Plus, it could affect your metabolism. No bueno.

I know this will sound crazy, and perhaps echo Jessie Spano’s passion for caffeine on that classic episode of Saved by the Bell, but these are magic pills. My energy level has changed significantly since I started taking them – it has gone way up. If I feel sleepy and ready for bed at 8 pm, I know it’s because I forgot to take my B12 in the morning. In general, I just feel better. It’s pretty amazing.

Now, in case it’s not painfully obvious, I am NOT a doctor, nutritionist, or any kind of medical professional who is qualified to dish out info on what you should or shouldn’t consume. I’m just sharing what works for me.

Do you take a vitamin? Multi? Women’s? Fish oil? Anything else?

(Image source.)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I take a daily multivitamin – I’m a huge advocate for folic acid, which is critical to many things, including preventing neural tube defects in babies (and you have to take it in the first weeks, before many women realize they are pregnant). Also is just good for overall health, and some studies just came out that MAY link it to reduction in autism. I need to look into B12 more… my multivitamin does have it! I just take the Duane Reade brand with iron, they are much smaller than the one-a-day. More on folic acid – http://www.getfolic.com

    • wow – I didn’t know anything about folic acid! thank you!

      I’ve taken multivitamins before, but I always end up sort of falling off track because I can’t feel any big changes…but I guess that’s not necessarily the point. maybe I’ll try again…

  2. So interesting, thanks! I have heard about people taking B12 shots, but I didn’t think about trying to get the same benefits in pill form. I definitely need some magic “I’m so excited!” pills. Will check them out tomorrow.

    Honestly, even if it is a placebo effect I would be satisfied 😉

    Good to know about folic acid, too! I guess I should be thinking a bit more about supplements in my diet.

    • I agree about the placebo effect! whatever works 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

