Open at Yogamaya.

June 28, 2011 at 6:32 pm | Posted in yoga | Leave a comment

In the spirit of trying new things and hitting up some new studios, I purchased a 3-class pass to Yogamaya from Gilt City last week, and went to my first class last night.

It was an “open” class, which to me means that students at any level can go and make the instruction work for them. And, though the Yogamaya description did say that this class was not for totally new beginners, I was surprised to discover that I was, by far, the least experienced yogi in the room. I guess “open” means different things at different studios.

I still mostly enjoyed the class, but I was definitely a bit overwhelmed. I thought the teacher – Bryn Chisman, one of the studio’s founders – was charming, but she moved quite fast and I felt a little confused at times. We started in down dog and moved through the vinyasa at lightning speed. At times, I was pleased with how much I could handle; at other times, I felt really tired and a little disappointed that I couldn’t keep up. Bryn was a good teacher and did come help me into a pose at one point, and I liked that even though I am clearly incredibly inflexible, she just assumed that I could do it with a little guidance. (And I did do it, though not without pain!)

I should also mention that the studio is gorgeous; it is light and bright and incredibly well-maintained and organized.  That kind of stuff matters to me, a lot, so I thought it was worth mentioning.

I will definitely go back to take the remaining two classes on my card – but I’ll probably go for a level one class next time. The deal is still available, so check it out yourself if you’re interested!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

