If at first you don’t succeed…

June 29, 2011 at 6:12 pm | Posted in Alzheimer's, running | 3 Comments

If the day starts with T, I’m running in the park with Team Run to Remember.

An even bigger crowd than last Thursday. The more, the merrier!

Last night I had the opportunity to run with a true newbie – someone who, like me, was not an athlete or a runner at all before joining the team. She has only been running on the treadmill to date, so she struggled a bit with finding her breath – it was, after all, a hot and humid day, and the rolling hills of Central Park can be quite a shock to the system!

We probably started out too fast, and about a mile in, she needed a break, so I walked with her. I know she felt discouraged, and maybe a little overwhelmed. I told her I’d been there myself, and that with a little time and a little faith (in herself, in the training), she’d get to where she needs to be. Luckily, she has a great attitude, and I think she believes.

We ended up cutting the route short and run-walking the entire way. The important thing is that even though she needed breaks, she always came back to running, and we finished strong.

It takes time. You don’t wake up one day and become a marathoner. You have to work really hard, and it’s physically and mentally exhausting. But anyone can do it. Just keep trying. You’ll get there.

Edited to add: Remember what I was thinking at this point when I was training for my first marathon?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are AWESOME! I may be a little over-emotional today, but stuff like this brings a tear to my eye. Sometimes all it takes is a little encouragement when someone is feeling down to turn things around.

    Also, it iS hard to go from treadmill running to street running. I’m trying to avoid the treadmill until I get my endurance up…I want to run a Disney marathon, and I don’t think they’ll let me set up a treadmill on Main Street 🙂

    • AW, thanks, Alison! I agree – like I told this new runner last night, I believed I could run my first marathon because I knew my coaches believed in me 🙂

      a treadmill on main street would be funny, though! I actually have a friend who ran 23 miles on the mill once…can you imagine?!?!

  2. […] and remember our friend who was struggling a few weeks back? She was amazing last night. She did absolutely everything and didn’t fall behind […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

