I love a long weekend.

July 6, 2011 at 6:07 pm | Posted in food, not-running, Thursday group, weekend | 2 Comments

Thank you to everyone who came out to run on Thursday! It was great! 

I spent the long weekend not running, not doing yoga, not doing anything much but eating like a wild animal. This morning I stepped on the scale and received my punishment.

I’m SURE running + yoga is the magic formula for me (assuming, of course, that I actually go running and do yoga), but to stay the size I want to be, I need to be more careful about food. I ate absolutely anything and everything I wanted this weekend (in great volume), and I just can’t do that. I don’t want to be restrictive in general – I can’t ban myself from cheese, for without it I would have no reason to live – but I do need to be selective. So, while a holiday weekend is a fine time to indulge, I have to remember that I don’t need to indulge at EVERY meal (hello, donuts).

Anyone have good tricks for staying on track over holiday weekends? Or…weekends in general?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Fourth of july is like summertime Thanksgiving. Don’t fight it, you’ll be back on track soon!

    • that’s true! but can you imagine how much worse it would have been if we had gone to the cheese plate?!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

